Ask Your Question

Angie's List Answers is the trusted spot to ask home improvement and health questions and get answers from service companies, health providers and consumers. For ratings and reviews on companies in your area, search Angie's List.

 
 
or
Submit
Top 30 Days Experts
Rank Leader Points*
1 kstreett 240
2 Guest_9020487 110
3 Guest_9190926 105
4 GoldenKid 100
5 ahowell 95
6 KnowledgeBase 95
7 skbloom 80
8 Guest_98024861 70
9 Guest_9311297 70
10 Guest_9400529 70

*Updates every 4 hours

Browse Projects By Category

Question DetailsAsked on 5/23/2013

How are reviews removed from a company's listing on Angie's List?

I saw a negative review on Kudzu Construction or Kudzu Contractors (same company) back in April 2013 expressing concerns about false promises, delayed construction, etc. on a roofing job in December 2012. My neighbor is experiencing the same issues that were mentioned in the review; however, I can no longer find the review. I would like to share this review with other neighbors before they are suckered into a business relationship. How or why was this HELPFUL review removed?

Do you have the same question? Follow this Question


5 Answers

0
Votes

Good question, I didn't think they could be removed.

Answered 6 years ago by BayAreaAC

1
Vote

We never remove a review, negative or positive, from the List unless:

1. The member who posted the feedback contacts us to remove it.

2. The review is a successful part of Complaint Resolution.

3. We confirm that the comments were fraudulently posted.

When a member tells us about a poor experience with a provider, our Complaint Resolution team is here to help. If we successfully help resolve an issue to our member's satisfaction, the old review is removed and the member is given the chance to submit updated feedback. If the problem isn't resolved, the original review remains untouched.

We also do not remove poorly rated providers from the List. If necessary, notices for issues like fraudulent behavior, employing felons, or threatening members will be added to the provider's profile-- but the company will remain on the List. We want our members to know about companies that do good work, as well as the ones that need to be avoided!

Source: 

Answered 6 years ago by HughV

0
Votes

Good Question as are the answers given. I had negatively reviewed a company, Greenstein Construction, in January 2013. This review was up for months and has now been removed as has been the Provider Greenstein Construction, which now comes up as "no match". I thought from the second answer give that Angies list does not remove contractors because they had negative reviews. Now I am confused as to what the policy is. I would think that a negative review from a member, with details, would be exactly the useful information that Angies list members would find Helpful. isn't this information exactly why we join Angies in the first place. We know that providers can pay services to clean their negative reviews on the internet, but I thought Angies, as a members service, was immune to that behavior.

Source: When you google greenstein construction, Angies list comes up, stating that Greenstein has been on the list since January 2013. Now It has been delisted.

Answered 5 years ago by Miami

0
Votes

It appears that Greenstein Construction Inc is currently excluded due to business practices and will remain excluded until the issue is resolved. For more information on this particular issue, you will want to contact our call center at 1-888-944-5478.


Call center hours:

Mon-Fri: 8:30am – 8:15pm ET
Sat: 8:30am – 3:00pm ET

Thanks so much!

Answered 5 years ago by KielH

2
Votes

After speaking to a representative at Angies List, I have found out why I can't find a review I posted or even the provider that it was posted about. Ok so Angies List does not remove reviews or providers, that just bury them. Having spoken to a representative multiple times I now have the answer. When I try to look up the provider "Greenstein Construction" on Angies list I get "no matches". But if I then go to the very bottom of the left column there is a box that says "search providers name" and type in "Greenstein Construction" I come up with Greenstein Construction, no grade, 0 reviews. But if I am extremely dogged and clicked on the name Greenstein Construction, wahla, there is my review with the Grade of F and a very detailed and true account of my dealings with Greenstein Construction. (Note that in the nine months that this was posted Greenstein never replied and Angies never came to me.) So if you are the person who would find this review, you would probably be so smart you wouldn't need it. For the rest of us Angies Listers, we would not be protected from hiring Greenstein or further investigating the firm before hiring.

I am now convinced that you can't pay Angies List to remove a review, but you can pretty much get it buried permanently. Yelp will be getting my business from now on.

Answered 5 years ago by Miami




Related Questions


Terms Of Use
|
Privacy Policy