Ask Your Question

Angie's List Answers is the trusted spot to ask home improvement and health questions and get answers from service companies, health providers and consumers. For ratings and reviews on companies in your area, search Angie's List.

 
 
or
Submit
Top 30 Days Experts
Rank Leader Points*
1 kstreett 240
2 Guest_9020487 110
3 Guest_9190926 105
4 GoldenKid 100
5 mygfcxx1 95
6 ahowell 95
7 KnowledgeBase 95
8 skbloom 80
9 Guest_98024861 70
10 Guest_9311297 70

*Updates every 4 hours

Browse Projects By Category

Question DetailsAsked on 7/16/2014

had our roof replaced by Keith melady roofing ( see review ) who worked for sears) ( not any more ) rook leaks now

We own a doublewide mobile ( 1990 build ) and got a new roof put on last year ( may 2013 ) job took 8 days , facia only half done skylights look to be to big , started to leak month after completion.Job was contracted by sears . Now sears will not do anything , Owens corning ( lifetime warranty my a..... ) will not do anything and the roofer doesn't work for sears anymore . the inspectors ( what a joke ) where a overweight couple that even didn't go on the roof after completion , they took pictures from the ground lol . I had another roofer look at the work and he said it is done really badly . What can we do now ?? I will stop payment but that might hurt our credit please advise ???? f....

Do you have the same question? Follow this Question


7 Answers

Voted Best Answer
1
Vote

I would first make an attempt to get a hold of someone of higher power at sears and explain your situation. If they don't want to do anything about it, In a nice way tell them you are going to have a vist with a local TV News investigative reporter that loves storys like yours and how you are going to get Sears a lot of exposure on television and I will bet they elect to correct their mistakes to avoid you doing that.

Source: 30 yrs in the industry

Answered 5 years ago by Roofman1

1
Vote

May 2013 job - you certainly cannot stop payment unless you just paid it in the last day or two - or within the 20 or 30 day complaint period throgh your credit card company if paid that way.


You don't say what warranty you have, but if started leaking within 1 month after completion THAT is when you should have started screaming for repair - not a year later, so your case was really weakened by that factor.


As Roofman says, Sears is who your contract was with - their issue, but I doubt if they gave you more than a 1 year installation warranty and that period has gone by, and if badly done like other roofer said then it is an installation, not a shingle manufacturer issue.


Try Sears route, and if under warranty and they will not honor it then try their bonding company. If not under warranty then all you can do is give them a bad rating - going to an investigative reporter might have an effect, but threatening to do so is a no-no - some cases like that have resulted in extortion charges against the complainant.

Answered 5 years ago by LCD

0
Votes

thank you guys both for your answers , well the roofer came back out and " fixed " it at that point , now it is starting to leak again . I am not a roofer ( obvious ) but have had 3 opinions . Vents only done on 1 side of the house , yes i see now that is just bad workmanship , its a double wide mobile so the one side doesnt get ventilation . Skylights are wrong and put in wrong ( why the leakage is happening ) No fireproof paper around the fire place vent pipe/chimney pipe . And the wrong felt paper was used ( acording to 2 Owens corning certified roofers ) Facia was only half done . The warranty we have is the Owens corning lifetime warranty and the sears home inprovement warranty .


Answered 5 years ago by Guest_92933801

1
Vote

Then looks like time to make a claim under the Sears warranty - certainly does not sound like a shingle defect issue.

Answered 5 years ago by LCD

0
Votes

thx LCD ( led is better they say , just kidding lol)

for your replies

yes and they just ignore every attempt from us , so bbb or court first bbb and then well We will see



Answered 5 years ago by Guest_92933801

1
Vote

Be sure to bear in mind, unless they pawned off an assignmetn contract on you, that Sears is the party you contracted with (confirm this on your contract), and if so don't let them pawn the blame off on Malady - as their sub, it is their responsibility, not his (though he is subject to claims by them).


Pesonally, with all the investigations about fraud at the BBB, and news stories about vendors being able to buy higher ratings, I would forget about the BBB route, though I guess being Sears they might have some interest in keeping a good name on BBB. I would check into getting an attorney for this, assuming you have lots of documentation and written statements from the two roofers who said it was done wrong. If you have an Ownes Corning sstatement that it was done wrong that would crry weight too.


Guess you need an attorney experienced in homeowner contract claims - and look into whether Sears was licensed and bonded in your state (and city if required), because if required and they were not licenced as a general contractor and bonded if required, in many states that put them in the position of having to prove what they did was legal and adequate, instead of you having to prove they were not.

Answered 5 years ago by LCD

0
Votes

thx again LCD

i found a great roofer that also is talking with owens corning to take over the warranty ( Leprechaun roofing ) If that comes out ok then we can after sears i need 2 more written statements of what is all wrong and then get an all out effort to sears 1 last time if no ressults court it is

thx ron klap

Answered 5 years ago by Guest_92933801

0
Votes

This roof was completed in 8 days because of the roof was in such poor condition, we had to replace over 25 sheets of plywood and facia. Mr Klap approved the bigger skylights and all the facia that was replaced, he said he did not want to spend any more on facia , him and his sons were going to replace it after we left. Mr. Klap signed off a completion letter from Sears stating that the job was done to his complete satisfaction. We went back to the residence to repair a leak that he described as just a little leak. They would not let us in the house because of the dogs. This whole job was inspected by Pasco County building inspections 2 times, one in progress and one final inspection, and both passed. The couple they say came out to inspect the job was a 3rd party inspection, that passed also. We no longer work for Sears because of their terrible customer service and lack of respect for their sub contactors, almost every job we were on the customers were mad when we arrived to the job. They never communicate with the customer and have a revolving door of project coordinators, who are supposed to be helping the customer and the contractor. I feel this review is wrong for Keith Melady Roofing and should be directed at Sears.

Answered 5 years ago by KeithMelady




Related Questions


Terms Of Use
|
Privacy Policy